Skip to content

Live chat: If you cannot find what you're looking for, or need help completing an online form, our Customer Service Officers are available on live chat between 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday.

Elections and voting

Local Government Elections 2017

This page provides information about the local elections on 4 May 2017

On Thursday 4 May 2017 elections will take place across Scotland to elect new councils.

Electors in East Renfrewshire will be asked to elect a total of 18 councillors across 5 wards.

This is a reduction from the former 20 councillor/6 ward composition of the council and has been introduced by the Scottish Government following the review of local authority wards and councillor numbers by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland.

The newly created wards and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward are

     WardNumber of councillors to be elected

Barrhead, Liboside and Uplawmoor


Newton Mearns North and Neilston


Giffnock and Thornliebank


Clarkston, Netherlee and Williamwood


Newton Mearns South and Eaglesham



Interested in becoming a local councillor?

If you are thinking about standing for election at the local elections in 2017, visit The site explains what is involved in the role and how to become a councillor.

The Electoral Commission has also produced guidance for candidates at the election.


Don't miss out on your chance to vote:

Visit the pages below for information on voting

Feedback on this page

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)