Skip to content

Due to essential maintenance, online payments and forms won't be available on Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 January. 

For essential housing repairs, homelessness enquiries or Ring and Report call 07968 222 507 or 07790 598970. If you need to speak to a social worker call 0300 343 1505.

For an emergency registration, contact 07798 875 297 or drop into Giffnock or Barrhead police station.

Service will be restored on Monday 27 January. We apologise for any inconvenience.

News and announcements

Scottish Youth Parliament election results announced

East Renfrewshire 2019-21 Scottish Youth Parliament election results

SYP Elections

The results of the East Renfrewshire 2019-21 Scottish Youth Parliament elections were announced at an event at Eastwood House on Friday 29 March, where the following candidates were successfully elected:

  • Jack Dudgeon, Eastwood constituency
  • Donald Maclean, Eastwood constituency
  • Marissa Roxburgh, Renfrewshire South constituency

Young people in Scotland are represented by a Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP), which democratically elects its members, aged between 14 and 25. Elections are held every two years in all 32 local authorities and a range of voluntary organisations.

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) are the elected representative voice of young people in Scotland and provide a national platform for their participation in democracy.

The Scottish Youth Parliament is crucial for the young people of East Renfrewshire, and ensures that their views on issues affecting them are heard by decision makers.

The SYP constituencies mirror that of the Scottish Government. East Renfrewshire has three seats in total, two in Eastwood and one in Renfrewshire South.

"All of the candidates who stood for this year's election should be very proud of themselves for their hard work in delivering robust campaigns, and encouraging young people from across East Renfrewshire to vote. Being elected as an MSYP is a fantastic opportunity to raise awareness of the issues affecting the lives of the young people they represent in East Renfrewshire. I wish our newly elected members the best and look forward to seeing all that they achieve during their term. I would also like to thank everyone who voted." Caroline Innes, Deputy Chief Executive and Returning Officer for this year's election

The voting period ran from 15-29 March which saw over 1200 young people from across the authority cast their votes using the single transferable voting system.

The successful candidates will officially become members of the Scottish Youth Parliament when they take their seat at the first sitting in June.

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)