Skip to content

For the latest service updates relating to coronavirus visit our coronavirus information web page.

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

Residents cast their votes in European Elections

Six Scottish seats allocated after vote announced

Ballot box

East Renfrewshire residents turned out in their thousands to vote in the European Elections on Thursday (May 23).

A total of 33,932 votes were cast, representing a turnout of 48.4%.

In total, the UK elects 73 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) to represent nine English regions, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. In Scotland, six MEPs are elected.

Once the polls closed on Thursday, the East Renfrewshire votes were counted at Carmichael Hall, in Giffnock, on Sunday (May 26), as this is when polling closed across the whole of the European Union.

In East Renfrewshire, votes were cast for all parties and independent candidates on the ballot paper, with 126 rejected votes.

The votes cast in East Renfrewshire were:

  • Change UK - The Independent Group - 995
  • Conservative and Unionist Party - 5898
  • Labour Party - 2834
  • Liberal Democrats - 5487
  • Scottish Green Party - 2560
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) - 11,366
  • The Brexit Party - 4016
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 416 
  • Gordon Edgar (Independent) - 176
  • Ken Parke (Independent) - 58

The totals for each counting area were then reported to the Regional Returning Officer (RRO) in Edinburgh and the total number of votes cast for each party or individual candidate across Scotland were announced.

The six Scottish seats have been allocated to: 

  • Alyn Smith (SNP)
  • Christian Allard (SNP)
  • Aileen McLeod (SNP)
  • Louis Stedman-Bryce (The Brexit Party)
  • Sheila Ritchie (Liberal Democrats)
  • Baroness Nosheena Mobarik (Conservative and Unionist Party)