Skip to content

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays)


News and announcements

Council celebrates staff at annual awards

Winners announced at annual awards ceremony


East Renfrewshire Council hosted its annual staff recognition event - the We Are East Ren Awards - to recognise hard-working staff going above and beyond for residents.

Over 100 staff gathered at Clarkston Hall to celebrate the achievements of colleagues from across the Council and Health and Social Care Partnership.

Awards were handed out in eight categories, which are designed to tie in to the Council's Vision for the Future of being a modern, ambitious council creating a fairer future with all.

The winners in each category were:

Putting people first - Sadie McIsaac, a pupil support assistant based in St Luke's High School, who works tirelessly caring for pupils and undertakes every task with characteristic good humour and commitment. 

Innovation and improvement- Joint Faith Campus Catering Team (St Clare's and Calderwood Lodge Primary School)for not only their multi-cultural catering provision, but also for being the first service in the UK to achieve the Coeliac UK accreditation for their gluten free meals.

Going the extra mile - Sheila Marshall, Woodfarm High School, who has been instrumental in helping Woodfarm High School add value to pupil achievement year on year through her tracking and analysis of data which allows staff to target interventions, resulting in no pupils slipping through the net.

Young employee of the year - James Toal, who works with Neighbourhood Services in the Cleansing Team, where he has more than proven himself to be a dedicated employee, a valuable member of the team and who continues to surpass expectations with all of his achievements.

Team of the year - Money Advice and Rights Teamfor the important support they offer residents of East Renfrewshire who are affected by poverty. They understand that the effect not having enough money extends into peoples' health, home and enjoyment of life and are therefore hugely dedicated in their work to make a difference.

Unsung Hero - Claire Shaw, works in Human Resources, and has been repeatedly recognised as an outstanding professional, who never draws attention to herself, yet does a fantastic job of going above and beyond her job to get the right conclusions and performance for Council employees.

Leader of the Year -Sarah Jane Hayes, is Customer Services Manager and has shown exceptional leadership over the past twelve months in her management of the Customer First, Money Advice and Rights and Digital Service Development Teams where she has set out a clear vision for employees to work towards.

Chief Executive's Award - Lorna Adams, Creditors Team Manager, has been recognised due to her tireless efforts towards the Council vision of what her team needed to achieve over the last two years. She is positive, committed, enthusiastic, willing to go the extra mile and is passionate about her role and team.

Congratulations to all our winners from the We Are East Ren Awards. It was wonderful to celebrate the amazing contribution made by so many of our staff and hear all the amazing stories about the work which goes on day-in day-out to ensure our residents receive the best services possible. As our recognition scheme continues to grow in the years ahead I hope that it will instil a sense of pride into our entire workforce - providing passionate and committed staff across the council and HSCP. Chief Executive Lorraine McMillan

A total of 25 finalists were shortlisted across the eight award categories before a panel of judges decided on the winners.

The winners were selected for showing absolute dedication to their role, often going above and beyond to ensure they delivered the very highest standards.

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)