Skip to content

For the latest service updates relating to coronavirus visit our coronavirus information web page.

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

Residents encouraged to register to vote

Deadline is on Tuesday 26 November

Election 2019

East Renfrewshire residents are being encouraged to register to vote ahead of the UK General Election on Thursday 12 December.

If you are already registered, you do not need to re-register, unless you have changed your name, address or nationality.

It only takes five minutes to register and all you need is your national insurance number.

The deadline for registering is midnight on Tuesday 26 November and can be done online at or by post.

Many people assume that they are automatically on the electoral register because they pay council tax and this is not the case. Others turn up to vote and find out that they are not on the electoral roll because they have moved house. Make sure you are registered in plenty of time to ensure you are able to vote on 12 December. East Renfrewshire's Returning Officer, Lorraine McMillan

Anyone not able to make it to polling stations on 12 December who would like to vote can also apply for a postal vote, as long as they apply before the deadline of 5pm on Tuesday 26 November. Alternatively an application can be made for a proxy vote, which allows someone else to attend and vote on your behalf. The deadline for applying for a proxy vote is 5pm on Wednesday 4 December.

A total of 24 polling places will be used across East Renfrewshire, with the majority remaining the same as have been used for previous elections.

In three changes, Neilston Primary School will no longer be used, with the polling place now switched to Glen Halls in the village. Netherlee Pavillion is being used instead of Netherlee Primary and in Eaglesham, Montgomerie Hall is being used instead of Eaglesham Primary. Details of which polling station to attend are printed on your polling card.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm and you can only cast your vote at the polling station you are registered at. Visit to find your polling station location and more information on voting.

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)