Skip to content

For the latest service updates relating to coronavirus visit our coronavirus information web page.

Live chat is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

X marks the spot in UK General Election 2019

Residents encouraged to make sure their vote counts

Election team 2019

Residents who are eligible to vote in next month's General Election are reminded to use an 'X' to cast their vote.

The poll will be held on 12 December 2019, where voters will make their choice on which candidate they wish to represent the East Renfrewshire constituency within the UK Parliament.

Four candidates are competing for the East Renfrewshire seat, with Carolann Davidson (Labour), Paul Masterton (Conservative), Andrew McGlynn (Liberal Democrats) and Kirsten Oswald (SNP) all vying to be elected as an MP.

Make your vote count by marking your paper with an 'X'. We want to make sure everyone's vote counts, whether they are voting by post by proxy or in person at a polling place on 12 December. East Renfrewshire's Returning Officer, Lorraine McMillan

When filling in your postal vote make sure you put in the correct date of birth and signature on your postal voting statement. Your ballot paper will not be counted if there is a mistake in it.

Polling stations will be open on 12 December from 7am to 10pm for those voting in person.

Residents who cannot make it to their polling station on election day are reminded that they can appoint a proxy up until Wednesday 4 December at 5pm, which allows someone else to vote on your behalf. After 4 December you can also apply for an emergency proxy up until 5pm on polling day, but only if you become unwell or find out you will be unable to vote in person for work reasons.

A total of 24 polling places will be used across East Renfrewshire, with the majority remaining the same as have been used for previous elections.

In three changes, Neilston Primary School will no longer be used, with the polling place now switched to Glen Halls in the village. Netherlee Pavillion is being used instead of Netherlee Primary and in Eaglesham, Montgomerie Hall is being used instead of Eaglesham Primary. Details of which polling station to attend are printed on your polling card.

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)