Skip to content

 Live chat  is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

Council appoints new Administration

Key positions also confirmed at first council meeting since local elections

ERC logo

East Renfrewshire Council has formed its new Administration following the recent local elections.

Councillor Tony Buchanan has been appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor Paul O'Kane has taken up the role of Deputy Leader.

Councillor Jim Fletcher has been named Provost and will be supported by Deputy Provost Councillor Betty Cunningham.

A number of other appointments were also made at the first meeting of the new Council last night (Wednesday 24 May).

  • Councillor Paul O'Kane has been appointed Education and Equalities Convener
  • Councillor Caroline Bamforth has been appointed Social Work and Health Convener
  • Councillor Alan Lafferty has been appointed Environment Convener
  • Councillor Danny Devlin has been appointed Housing and Maintenance Services Convener
  • Councillor Colm Merrick has been appointed Convener for Community Services and Community Safety 
  • Councillor Stewart Miller has been appointed Chair of the Audit and Scrutiny Committee
  • Councillor Annette Ireland has been appointed Planning Applications Committee Chair
  • Councillor Angela Convery has been appointed Licensing Committee Chair
  • Councillor Colm Merrick has been appointed Chair of Cabinet (Fire & Police)

Further details of all committees and membership can be viewed here pdf icon Council appointments 2017 [67kb].

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)