Skip to content

 Live chat  is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

News and announcements

East Renfrewshire pupils' achievements recognised with special awards

More than 40 East Renfrewshire young people have been honoured for their excellent achievements at an annual education awards night

East Renfrewshire pupils' achievements recognised with special awards

More than 40 East Renfrewshire young people have been honoured for their excellent achievements at an annual education awards event.

Pupils from all seven of the area's secondary schools and Isobel Mair School were recognised for their special achievements at the Convener's Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

A wide number of categories were awarded on the night, from creativity, sports and advocacy to independent living skills.

Each nomination for an award is submitted by teachers, with the winners of each category presented with a certificate and trophy at the event.

Councillor Paul O'Kane, Convener for Education and Equalities, said: "It was an absolute honour to present the awards to this fantastic group of determined and highly motivated pupils at this annual event. I am always so amazed by the fantastic achievements and it is made all the more special this year as 2018 is The Year of Young People in Scotland. We heard about everything from sporting success to phenomenal volunteering exploits and also those who had achieved in the face of adversity. These young people are incredibly hard working and committed, and are a credit to themselves and their school communities."

Mhairi Shaw, Director of Education, added: "We are dedicated to offering an array of opportunities to all of our pupils to support them in their development to becoming confident young people. Combined with the support of teachers, fellow pupils and parents these young people are well equipped to excel in their future ventures beyond school and are excellent ambassadors for East Renfrewshire."

Xian Parr, from Barrhead High, was recognised in the Extra Curricular award category thanks to her time spent supporting LGBT young people. Xian has developed a vibrant LGBT community within Barrhead High and has been instrumental in the establishment of the East Renfrewshire LGBT group.

Eastwood High pupil Erin Wallace had only just returned from the Gold Coast where she represented Scotland in the Commonwealth Games. Receiving a Sports award, Erin was also recognised for the gold medal she secured at the Commonwealth Youth Games last year.

Olivia Kilgour, from Isobel Mair, was recognised for the Personal Achievement award after achieving her Duke of Edinburgh Bronze award, and has now become the first pupil at the school to be embarking on the Duke of Edinburgh Silver expedition.

Woodfarm High Jaguar Land Rover 4x4 Challenge Team, 'Teams Docs', worked together to build a Land Rover specification radio controlled four-wheel drive (4x4) vehicle and negotiate a specially designed test track. The team won the regional and Scottish National Championships and went on to represent Scotland at the World Challenge Finals in Abu Dhabi where they competed against teams from around the world including USA, South Africa, Malaysia and Australia.

Full details of the night's award winners are listed below:

Barrhead High - Kirsty Robson (Community Service), Grace Moultrie (Sports), Xian Parr (Extra Curricular)

Eastwood High - Logan Rowe (Community Service), Erin Wallace (Sports), Kate Richardson (Sports), Alyson Bell (Sports), Nicole Harkness (Success in the face of adversity)

Isobel Mair - Zain Ali (Personal Achievement), Olivia Kilgour (Personal Achievement)

Mearns Castle High - Amaan Ali (Community Service), Pippa Blundell (Creativity), Gregor Stott (Sports), Owen Vinter (Sports), Heather Barnes (Sports), Hamish Armitt (Sports)

St Luke's High - Ilona Geddes (Community Service), Laurianne Hughes (Independent Living Skills), Therese Kearins (Advocacy)

St Ninian's High - Caterina Lue (Creativity), James Tavares (Creativity), Isla Ward (Sports), Erin Ward (Sports), Kerri Halpin (Sports), Eva Marie Curran (Extra Curricular), Gymnastics Team (Group Awards), Ella Loffler (Group Awards), Millie McGeehan (Group Awards), Eva MacFarlane (Group Awards)

Williamwood High - Campbell Lang (Creativity), Tom Potter (Creativity), Adam Clayton (Sports), Andrew MacIntosh (Sports), Ross Nesbitt (Sports)

Woodfarm High - Emily Clark (Extra Curricular), 4x4 Team (Group Awards), Suzanne Mowat (Group Awards), Rory Graham (Group Awards), Jake Gibson (Group Awards), Danial Tariq (Group Awards), Rowan Roscher (Group Awards), Lewis Griffin (Group Awards), Anum Rashid (Equalities), Eilidh Newall (Volunteering)

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)