Skip to content

 Live chat  is available Monday to Friday between 8.45am and 4.45pm (except public holidays).

Councillors and democracy

Councillors and democracy

This page provides general information about East Renfrewshire's councillors and their wards

East Renfrewshire

East Renfrewshire Council comprises 18 councillors, representing 5 multi-member wards. These wards are made up of either 3 or 4 members.  There is no overall political control of the Council. 

Your local councillors can help support you with any council issues.

The wards and councillors for each are:

Ward 1 - Barrhead, Liboside and Uplawmoor

Ward 2 - Newton Mearns North and Neilston

Ward 3 - Giffnock and Thornliebank

Ward 4 - Clarkston, Netherlee, and Williamwood

Ward 5 - Newton Mearns South and Eaglesham

5 Ward Map Displays a larger version of this image in a new browser window

Additional responsibilities

As well as their ordinary councillor duties the Leader of the Council and a number of other councillors (conveners) have additional responsibilities.  Full details of these councillors and their responsibilities can be found in the Related documents section.

Councillors' remuneration and expenses

Details of remuneration and expenses paid to councillors can be viewed in the tables in the Related documents section.

Council meetings, agendas and minutes

View current agendas, reports and minutes for the council and a calendar of upcoming council meetings.

Help improve this webpage

Was this page helpful?

Please use the official complaints channel if your comment is about service provision:

Complaints, feedback and having your say

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)