Eaglesham & Waterfoot Community Council Minutes of meeting held 7th October 2019

Present: David Williamson (Chair) Niall Rachman (Vice Chair) Ailsa Burns (Secretary) Steve McMenamin, David McAllister, Duncan McIntryre PC Andy Wilson – Giffnock Problem Solving team

Apologies from Councillors Jim McLean and Caroline Bamforth, Andy Tyson and Brian Lappin

The meeting was opened, no previous minutes to agree. PC Wilson ran through the monthly police report. Vice Chair asked, "Why have police not been policing the speed around the area?" The chair agreed to forward the latest TRACSIS data to Police.

LDP2: Not discussed in any great detail due absence of Councillor McLean and Bamforth.

Duncan McIntyre discussed a transport planning meeting he had recently attended and advised of the opportunity to comment on their report.

Options to protect pedestrians at the Bellecraig roundabout were discussed. A broken crash barrier in Waterfoot following a recent RTA was mentioned – Parks/Roads responsibility to fix this.

An incident of flooding at Waterfoot cross was discussed.

The proposed 'digital noticeboard' was discussed – concerns raised re cost, upkeep, content and reach.

Points from Facebook comments raised and noted.

Christine Balloch (Member of the public at this stage) agreed to draw up a map of defective steps and rails coming down from Bonnyton Drive.

Upcoming events by Whitelee rangers and Jack on the Orry discussed along with possibility of doing something similar in Waterfoot next year?

Canopy at the shops discussed again. Xmas day event at Bowling club discussed – liaise with Liz Highet from Community Connections to publicise amongst those who may not be on the internet through her channels.

Stalemate at Carrot parking situation due to irreconcilable differences.

A planting trees initiative was discussed – support from Woodland trust – Ian McDonald will be asked for advice.

Heart Start courses happening soon – Niall has a local Duke of Edinburgh scheme volunteer to assist.

Election of post holders: Treasurer – David McAskill, proposed by DW, seconded AB – Elected Vice Chair – Niall Rachmann, proposed by DM, seconded SM – Elected Co-opted member – Christine Balloch

It was agreed that CB would be our lead for Educational matters due her links with EPS. Ailsa Burns would take the lead in transport matters, Niall Rachman will be the lead for Roads & Speeding, and Steve McMenamin will be the lead for Accessibility issues.

Next meeting will be Tuesday 12/11/19 Montgomerie Halls.