X marks the spot for Scottish Parliament Election

Residents across East Renfrewshire are being reminded that X marks the spot when voting in the Scottish Parliament Election on May 6.

Election graphic

Published: 8 April 2021

A total of 129 MSPs (Members of the Scottish Parliament) will be elected.

There are 73 constituencies, each represented by one MSP who is elected through the purple-coloured ballot papers, with the candidate who receives the highest number of votes winning.

There are also eight regions, each represented by seven regional MSPs who are elected through the peach-coloured ballot papers.

A formula is used to allocate these 56 regional seats to the various parties to make the overall result more proportional.

You will receive two ballot papers and you will vote once on each paper. On the purple ballot paper you vote for a candidate to represent the local constituency. Mark an X in the box opposite the name of the candidate of your choice.

On the peach ballot paper, you vote for a party or independent candidate to represent the larger West of Scotland region. Mark an X in the box opposite the name of the party or independent candidate of your choice.

In East Renfrewshire, voters in the Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor area will be voting for a candidate in the Renfrewshire South Constituency and residents living in the rest of the area will elect a candidate for the Eastwood constituency.

One candidate will be elected as MSP for Eastwood, one candidate for Renfrewshire South, and a further seven candidates from across the wider electoral region will become MSPs through the West of Scotland regional list.

By voting in the Scottish Parliament election you are having your say on who will work on your behalf in the Scottish Parliament. The Scottish Parliament has powers to make laws for Scotland in a range of areas including health, education, housing, justice and the environment.

Last modified on 29 April 2021