Have your say on 6 May

Voters urged to ensure they know how to vote

Election graphic

Published: 29 April 2021

Don't forget to cast your vote and have your say in the Scottish Parliament election.

The election takes place on Thursday 6 May and voters are being advised to ensure they know how to vote and can easily take part.

If you're voting in person, then take a minute to check your polling card so you know where to cast your vote and your polling station number.

Due to the impact of delivering an election during the ongoing pandemic, a number of polling places in East Renfrewshire have been changed.

With Carmichael Hall, in Giffnock, currently the venue of a Covid vaccination centre, those who usually vote there will instead go to St Ninian's High School Sports Hall. Netherlee Primary School is the alternative for Netherlee Pavilion, Mearns Primary is being used instead of Fairweather Hall and Eaglesham Primary is the alternative to Montgomerie Hall. All of these changes are needed due to the requirements to adhere to social distancing measures.

Using these schools will not adversely impact pupils, as May 6 is a scheduled in-service day for all schools across East Renfrewshire.

With restrictions still in place due to the pandemic, a number of measures have been introduced to ensure safety at polling places.

For those who choose to vote in person, polling places will be following all public health guidelines. Voters are encouraged to keep themselves and others safe by:

  • Wearing a face covering
  • Bringing their own pen or pencil
  • Cleaning their hands when entering and leaving the polling station
  • Keeping a safe distance

Voters should not attend the polling station if they have symptoms of Covid-19, or if they have been asked to self-isolate.

If a person is following public health or medical advice which has required them to quarantine or self-isolate after 27 April - the deadline for a normal postal or proxy vote application - then they can apply for an emergency proxy on the grounds of Covid-19 up until 5pm on polling day. Contact the Electoral Registration Office on 0300 300 0150 or ero@renfrewshire-vjb.gov.uk to do this.

Proxy voters must ensure they are able to vote at the correct polling station.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 6 May and voters can only vote at the polling station that is stated on their own poll card. Any voter who arrives at the polling station before 10pm and is still waiting to vote at 10pm will be able to vote. You don't require your poll card to vote as long as you are on the electoral register. If you haven't received your poll card and are unsure if you are on the register, you can check with the Electoral Registration Office.

Postal voters should post their vote in plenty time for it to be delivered by 6 May at the latest. Postal votes can also be handed in until 10pm on 6 May at a polling station in the Eastwood constituency. Whilst much of East Renfrewshire is in the Eastwood constituency, Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor are in the Renfrewshire South Constituency. If you are handing your postal vote in at a polling station make sure you are in the correct constituency, as staff cannot accept it otherwise.

Last modified on 10 May 2021