Boundaries Scotland

Find out about the current review of Scottish Parliamentary Constituency boundaries and the proposed changes in East Renfrewshire.

Boundaries Scotland is an independent, non-political body which is legally responsible for carrying out reviews of Scottish Parliament boundaries.

Its currently carrying out a review of Scottish Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries which includes parts of East Renfrewshire. These proposed changes don't involve the current boundaries of the UK Parliamentary seat of East Renfrewshire or the boundaries of East Renfrewshire Council.

The current review began in September 2022 and is due to be completed by May 2025.

What was proposed?

Provisional proposals published by Boundaries Scotland in 2023 would have led to the dissolution of the current Scottish parliamentary seat of Eastwood but this plan was withdrawn after East Renfrewshire Council expressed concerns and gave evidence to a Local Enquiry chaired by a Sheriff Principal in December 2023.

The council also proposed Neilston, which is currently part of the Renfrewshire South Scottish parliamentary constituency, should be included in a revised Eastwood constituency. The Council acknowledged, in line with the existing position for the average size of the electorate in Scottish Parliament constituencies, that East Renfrewshire has too many electors to be one constituency and too few to be two.

What are the revised proposals?

Revised proposals published by Boundaries Scotland in April 2024 have taken into account the council's submissions. The Eastwood constituency would be retained and include Neilston. The Renfrewshire South seat would be revised and renamed Renfrewshire West. This constituency would contain Barrhead and Uplawmoor and be administered by Renfrewshire Council.

It was agreed at a meeting of East Renfrewshire Council in April 2024 that the council would submit a response to Boundaries Scotland supporting the revised proposals for East Renfrewshire.

Visit Boundaries Scotland website  for more information.

Last modified on 22 May 2024